Menu Close

Group One Finals 2022   

Do not have the exact results but can tell you that we, TH&DBA, did well.  Happy Valley defeated Wivenhoe to take the Frank Greenaway Trophy whilst Peter Halliday, Happy Valley, lifted the Two Woods Singles beating Ken Clarke. Andy Todd and Richard Buckland, Dovercourt, landed the Pairs Trophy beating J. Marshall  and M. French.  Neil Shiplee, Dovercourt, was runner up in the Singles losing to S. Toop.   The Brightlingsea foursome of Ed Mercer, Conor Mathers, Tom Doherty and Dave Williamson ended up as runners up of the Fours.  In the Champion of Champions final Norman Morgan, Clacton, also finished up as runners up, again, losing to S. Toop and finally Phil Armstrong, Mark Brown and Roger Holmes were runners up in the Triples Final.  So a very good day for the Association and well done all you, the players, for representing us!!

Coming up soon is the Tendring Hundred & District Bowling Association Annual General Meeting being held at Thorpe BC on Thursday 24th November.  All nomination for the Management Committee should be sent to the Secretary before 30th September.

The first results of the TH&DBA competition were as follows.  In the pairs Andy Todd and Richard Buckland overcame their opponents, Peter Halliday and Kevin Jackson 26 to 12.  The mixed pairs featuring Albert and Marie Twells came up trumps beating Martin Toole and Jackie Maguire defeating them 24 to 13 and then, finally, in the afternoon the Brightlingsea gang of Connor Mathers, Ed Mercer, Tom Doherty and Dave Williamson won by the smallest margin possible when beating the Wivenhoe mob of Albert Twells, Paul Davey, Andy Jeffrey and Trevor Baxter 18 v 17 in what was a really enthralling game of bowls.  So well done to all our winners and bad luck to the defeated.  A big thank you goes out to Thorpe BC for the tea etc served by those wonderful women!!!  and I did see a man in the kitchen!!!  Now looking forward to tomorrow for 3 games all starting at 10am.  Looks like it could be a really good day of bowling. 

The final day of the finals and what a day.  Albert Twells, Wivenhoe, won the 2 woods singles against Connor Mathers, Brightlingsea, by 19 – 11.  That gave him two titles out of the 6 events so well done to him.  This was followed by Neil Shiplee, Dovercourt, taking the 4 woods singles title overcoming Kevin Jackson, Happy Valley with a score line of 21 – 8. This left the Triples with Tom and Vic Graham and Len Freeman, Happy Valley taking on Phil Armstrong, Roger Holmes and Mark Brown, Frinton, and needing 2 shots at the last end were holding three until the last bowl of the match bowled by Phil Armstrong that landed on the jack giving the title to Frinton.  That was close and was very well supported by all the  club members of both clubs, who were very pleasantly vocal!!!                     

Terry Stephens, President of TH&DBA, presented the winners and runners up awards to all those players.  Again a big thank you to Thorpe Bowls Club for the use of the facilities and the tea ladies and gentleman and, of course, the barman!!!  A good weekend!!  Nearly forgot..thanks to Geoff Self for the lift to the ground and home with all the trophies!!!


Congratulations go out this morning to the Premier League winners for 2022 Happy Valley with Brightlingsea just losing out on 3 points!!!  The Stanford was also very close with Thorpe B heading the table by just ONE point from Kirby.

In the Windsor A Dovercourt ‘A’ took the title this season with Wivenhoe ‘A’ just losing out by 4 points.  In the B Division Frinton ‘B’ winning the plate with a convincing overall score of 124 points to runners up Kirby 78 points.  

Well done to all winners and commiserations to all others.  If I get voted in at the AGM it will be a pleasure to continue with the website with the invaluable help of Wivenhoe’s Peter Wilby. He is the brains behind it I assure you!!!!  Thank you Peter!!!